Features

Messi, Neymar on Copa America collision course – live on DStv’s SuperSport

Having teamed up to devastating effect to win a historic treble for their club, Barcelona teammates Lionel Messi and Neymar now find themselves on opposite ends in the quest for a fourth title of the year and continental supremacy in the 44th edition of the Copa America.

Argentina, led by Messi, and a Neymar-led Brazil, are the favourites going into this year’s South American football showpiece (kicking off on Friday morning live on SuperSport) and could meet in the semi-finals.

All Copa America matches will be broadcast live on SS3 HD and Maximo with repeats scheduled at prime times throughout the day.

With decorated club careers but only a solitary Confederations Cup title to show in over 150 combined senior appearances for their countries, both players are desperate for international success.  The Copa is the perfect platform to alleviate their angst.

Even though the two powerhouses, Argentina and Brazil, are favourites, the tournament can be unpredictable.

Four years ago Messi and Neymar were powerless in stopping a rampant Uruguay, led by Luis Suarez and Diego Forlan, romping to the title. Suarez and Forlan’s absence this year, due to suspension and retirement, might see La Celeste struggling to defend their title. If they are to successfully defend it, Edinson Cavani will have to fulfil his massive potential.

Home comforts and a strong and balanced squad which boasts of Claudio Bravo, Arturo Vidal and Alexis Sanchez, could see Chile finally shedding the bridesmaid tag, having finished as runners-up four times.

 

Broadcast details – All Times CAT

 

Friday, June 12

Chile v Ecuador

SS3/SS3A/SS3N/Max1 (01.30am)

 

Saturday, June 13

Mexico v Bolivia

SS3/SS3A/SS3N/Max1 (01.30am)

Uruguay v Jamaica

SS3/SS3A/SS3N/Max1 (9pm)

Argentina v Paraguay

SS3/SS3A/SS3N/Max1 (11.30pm)

 

Sunday, June 14

Colombia v Venezuela

SS3/SS3A/SS3N/Max1 (9pm)

Brazil v Peru

SS3/SS3A/SS3N/Max1 (11.30pm)

 

Monday, June 15

Ecuador v Bolivia

SS3/SS3A/SS3N/Max1 (11pm)

 

Tuesday, June 16

Chile v Mexico

SS3/SS3A/SS3N/Max1 (01.30am)

Paraguay v Jamaica

SS3/SS3A/SS3N/Max1 (11pm)

 

Wednesday, June 17

Argentina v Uruguay

SS3/SS3A/SS3N/Max1 (01.30am)

 

Thursday, June 18

Brazil v Colombia

SS3/SS3A/SS3N/Max1 (01.30am)

 

Friday, June 19

Peru v Venezuela

SS3/SS3A/SS3N/Max1 (01.30am)

Mexico v Ecuador

SS3/SS3A/SS3N/Max1 (11pm)

 

Saturday, June 20

Chile v Bolivia

SS3/SS3A/SS3N/Max1 (01.30am)

Uruguay v Paraguay

SS3/SS3A/SS3N/Max1 (9pm)

Argentina v Jamaica

SS3/SS3A/SS3N/Max1 (11.30pm)

 

Sunday, June 21

Colombia v Peru

SS3/SS3A/SS3N/Max1 (9pm)

Brazil v Venezuela

SS3/SS3A/SS3N/Max1 (11.30pm)

 

Thursday, June 25

Quarterfinal

SS3/SS3A/SS3N/Max1 (01.30am)

 

Friday, June 26

Quarterfinal

SS3/SS3A/SS3N/Max1 (01.30am)

 

Saturday, June 27

SS3/SS3A/SS3N/Max1 (01.30am)

 

Sunday, June 28

Quarterfinal

SS3/SS3A/SS3N/Max1 (01.30am)

 

Tuesday, June 30

Semi-final

SS3/SS3A/SS3N/Max1 (01.30am)

 

Wednesday, July 1

Semi-final

 

Saturday, July 4

3rd/4th Place Playoff

SS3/SS3A/SS3N/Max1 (01.30am)

 

Final

SS3/SS3A/SS3N/Max1 (10pm)

 

All Times CAT

 

Leave a Comment