The Future Awards Kicks Off National Tour

Winners visit secondary schools and universities across the country. As part of the post-awards activities for its 7th Season, The Future Awards Central Working Committee has begun its annual seminars across secondary schools and universities around the country. The seminars kicked off on Wednesday,
November 14, 2012 and will run until January 2013.

“The Future Awards is a year-long season where there is an unending thread of events devoted to our core values of leadership, enterprise and active citizenship,” said Chude Jideonwo, who is executive director of The Future Project. “And beyond the awards, we are passionate about ensuring that a critical mass of young people engage directly with the wide range of winners: their stories of inspiration, value-creation and belief in self and country. As a bottom-top, grassroots-driven idea, beyond inspiring hope and faith, this is a practical youth-driven platform that ensures a multiplier-effect of positively engaged young people and a strengthened Nigerian economy.”

The national tour has already visited Premier College, Ronik International School, International School Lagos, Aunty Ayo Secondary School, Mayflower School Ikenne, with more schools on the calendar.

“We are glad that to be chosen as one of the privileged schools to host the winners of The Future Awards,” said the principal of Premier College. “And we are grateful to the organisers for giving our students this eye opening opportunity on improving themselves and adding value to their communities and Nigeria.”

The seminars will visit Lagos, Ogun, Rivers, Kaduna, Abuja, Benin, Anambra, amongst others.

With outreaches to Ghana, Ethiopia, and South Africa, The Future Awards has been described by the World Bank as “The Nobel Prize for Young Africans” and in six years, has produced 126 winners and over 1,000 nominees. Our mission at The Future Awards is to inspire leadership and build enterprise. With its umbrella The Future Project, it has been in the forefront of inspiring a new generation of leaders/leadership and entrepreneurs for Nigeria, working with the Africa Union, the US Government, the British Council, the Ministry of Youth Development, the Nigerian Presidency amongst other organs.

Winners of The Future Awards 2012 are:
Best Use of Advocacy – Babafemi Oyediran
Best Use of New Media – Gidi_Traffic (Kaptin Ndoko)
Creative Artiste of the Year – Bayo Omoboriowo
Designer of the Year – Toju Foyeh
Excellence in Service (Government) – Hadiza Abdullahi
Excellence in Service (Journalism) – Alkasim Abdulkadir
Excellence in Service (Corporate) – Ngozi Nkwoji
Innovator of the Year (Science and Technology) – Seun Onigbinde (BudgIT)
Innovator of the Year (Education) – Otto Orondaam (Slum2School Project)
Entrepreneur of the Year (General) – Ola Orekunrin (Flying Doctors Nigeria)
Entrepreneur of the Year (Agriculture) – Tochukwu Ikpegbu
Entrepreneur of the Year (Communication and Media) – Uyi Omokaro
Entrepreneur of the Year (Entertainment) – Michael Collins
Entrepreneur of the Year (Technology) – Jason Njoku
On-Air-Personality (Radio) – Tolu ‘Toolz’ Oniru
On-Air-Personality (TV) – Denrele Edun
Musician of the Year – Wizkid
Actor of the Year – Tonto Dikeh
Producer of the Year (Music) – Jeremiah ‘J. Sleek’ Shelika
Producer of the Year (Screen) – Clarence Peters
Young Person of the Year – Idris Akinbanjo

The seminars are hosted by The Future Project, a social enterprise set up based on a strong, practical commitment to human and capital development, especially in Nigeria. It is also committed to finding effective and innovative ways of addressing social issues.

Leave a Comment