WATCH And Join The Conversation With #NES20 – The 20th Nigerian Economic Summit commences today

The 20th Nigerian Economic Summit focusing solely on the education sector is set to commence today; 18 – 20 March 2014 at the Transcorp Hilton Hotel, Abuja, Nigeria.Press AD 3

“The decision to hold the Summit on education was taken to address the decline in a sector that is critical to economic development,” said Frank Nweke, Director-General of the National Economic Summit Group (NESG) “The Nigerian education sector is in dire straits, and requires both public and private sector intervention, if the country is to fulfill its potential as not only a regional powerhouse, but as a global player”

You can watch the summit LIVE on Channels Television 9am everyday and participate in every session using the hashtag #NES20 on Twitter to contribute. There will be over 8 plenary at the forum which will open up conversations on several issues like:

1.      Quality Education: The Bridge to the Future

2.      ICT, Knowledge Transfer and Relevance

3.      Education: For What Purpose?

4.      Funding Education: Our Shared Responsibility

5.      Access, Equity and Inclusion

6.      Creating an Accountability Framework For Education in Nigeria

7.      Leadership and Ownership in Nigerian Education

The Summit will be declared open by the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Dr. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan. The President will also lead the high level interaction at Presidential Policy Dialogue aimed at distilling the requirements for deciding what Nigeria’s ideal education system should be.

Speakers and panelists include Professor Onyebuchi Chukwu, Honourable Minister of Health, Mrs Fatimah Abdurahman, President, All Nigerian Confederation of Principals of Secondary Schools, Pastor Sam Adeyemi, President, Daystar Leadership Academy, Mr. Fela Durotoye, Founder, Visible Impact and GEMSTONE 2025, Mr. Kabelo Makwane, Country Manager, Microsoft Nigeria, Mr. Segun Ogunsanya, Managing Director, Bharti Airtel Nigeria, Mr. Gbenga Sesan, Founder, Paradigm Initiative Nigeria (PIN) and Ajegunle.org, Mr. Bambo Bashorun, Director of ICT, State of Osun and Project Coordinator, Opon Imo, Mr. Babs Omotowa, MD/CEO, Nigerian Liquefied Natural Gas (NLNG) Limited, Ms. Maryam Augie- Executive Director, Ayahay Foundation, Mr. Otto Orondaam, Founder, Slum2School Project, ?   Mr. Tony Elumelu, Founder, Tony Elumelu Foundation, Mr. MutiuSunmonu, Managing Director, Shell Nigeria, Mrs. Sola David-Borha, CEO, Stanbic IBTC, Mr. BisiOnasanya, CEO, First Bank of Nigeria amongst others.

For more information about NES 20, visit www.nigerianeconomicsummit.org. Join the conversation with the hashtag #NES20 and follow @nesgnigeria on Twitter and on Facebook: NigerianEconomicSummitGroup.

Leave a Comment