Two Nigerian Women Make The 2019 Women’s Prize For Fiction Longlist

Two Nigerian women, Oyinkan Braithwaite and Akwaeke Emezi have made the longlist of the 2019 Women’s Prize for Fiction Longlist.

Akwaeke Emezi made the list for her latest book, Freshwater while  Oyinkan Braithwaite made it for My Sister, the Serial Killer.  

You can see the entire longlist below:

  • The Silence of the Girls by Pat Barker
  • Remembered by Yvonne Battle-Felton
  • My Sister, the Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite
  • The Pisces by Melissa Broder
  • Milkman by Anna Burns
  • Freshwater by Akwaeke Emezi
  • Ordinary People by Diana Evans
  • Swan Song by Kelleigh Greenberg-Jephcott
  • An American Marriage by Tayari Jones
  • Number One Chinese Restaurant by Lilian Li
  • Bottled Goods by Sophie van Llewyn
  • Lost Children Archive by Valeria Luiselli
  • Praise Songs for the Butterflies by Bernice L. McFadden
  • Circe by Madeline Miller
  • Ghost Wall by Sarah Moss
  • Normal People by Sally Rooney

Leave a Comment