NETng To Announce Nominees For NET Honours on Friday

On Friday April 20 2018, Nigeria Entertainment Today will release the list of nominees for its second annual NET Honours People’s Choice Awards.

NET Honours is aimed at recognizing entertainers who have done admirably in the past year, using data found in our 2017 reports. The nominees are made up of individuals from different works of life and comprise musicians, actors, media practitioners and many others.

Spread across sixteen categories, NET Honours PCAs was introduced in 2017 and accorded top Nigerian entertainers with the accolades they earned by being the most important individuals in their craft in the year under review.
The categories are Most Searched Male Musician, Most Searched Female Musician, Most Searched Actress, Most Searched Actor, Most Searched Media Personality, Most Popular Male Musician, Most Popular Female Musician, Most Popular Actress, Most Popular Actor, Most Popular Comedian, Most Popular Media Personality, Most Popular Global Celebrity, Most Popular African Celebrity, Most Popular Couple, Most Popular Event and Most Popular Individual.

According to Executive Editor/Chief Operating Officer Jide Taiwo, NET Honours does not have a panel of judges which chooses the winners. Instead, it relies on the choice of the fans who read, watch and follow NETng across the world, on the website, YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.
‘By giving the power to the audience, we believe that we can have a totally unbiased crop of winners as we only use the data to select winners’, he said.

Previous recipients include pop stars Wizkid, Tiwa Savage; actress Funke Akindele, comedian Basketmouth and media personality Toke Makinwa; and on Friday fans will discover if some past nominees and winners also make the shortlist this year.

However, the winners will be revealed at the Nigerian Entertainment Conference holding on Wednesday, April 25 2018 at Landmark Centre. ‘The annual conference popularly known as NEC Live the largest gathering of Nigerian entertainment industry insiders- musicians, producers, artiste managers, show promoters, media professionals, brand managers, label owners, corporate executives- and we believe that honouring our recipients at this elite conference avails them the privilege of being celebrated in the midst of their peers and fans,’ Taiwo concluded.

The full list of nominees will be announced at 10 am on Friday. Follow the conversations online via the hashtag #NEThonours.

Leave a Comment