INEC Fixes Jan 9th For Bayelsa Guber Rerun

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC has announced that the Bayelsa governorship rerun election in Southern Ijaw LGA will take place on the 9th of January, 2016.

The electoral body declared the December 5th state governorship election inconclusive after cancelling the votes in the local government following cases of violence and election irregularities.

Results from this rerun will determine who becomes the next governor of the state. The main contenders in the election are the incumbent governor, Seriake Dickson of PDP and former governor Timpre Sylva of APC.

Leave a Comment