Ballon d’Or 2021: Messi And Putellas Winners Of Prestigious Award

Ballon d’Or 2021: Messi And Putellas Winners Of Prestigious Award

Paris Saint-Germain Star, Lionel Messi beat top rivals like Robert Lewandowski and Karim Benzema to take the award in a glittering ceremony on Monday in Paris, the city he now calls home after leaving boyhood club Barcelona for Paris Saint-Germain in August.

Barcelona and Spain Star, Alexia Putellas took the women’s award.

This means Messi had won the award 7 times in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, and now 2021

Midfielder Jorginho, who won the Champions League with Chelsea and Euro 2020 with Italy, came third, followed by Real Madrid’s Karim Benzema and another Chelsea player, N’Golo Kante.

Five-time winner Cristiano Ronaldo came sixth. He was absent from the ceremony.

Between them, Messi and Ronaldo have won 12 of the last 13 editions of the Ballon d’Or with the exception coming in 2018 when Luka Modric claimed the prize.

Based on Ballon d’Or parameters, these are the top men’s and women’s ten best players in the world.

Men’s Ballon d’Or top 10

  1. Lionel Messi (ARG/Barcelona)

  2. Robert Lewandowski (POL/Bayern Munich)

  3. Jorginho (ITA/Chelsea)

  4. Karim Benzema (FRA/Real Madrid)

  5. N’Golo Kante (FRA/Chelsea)

  6. Cristiano Ronaldo (POR/Juventus – Manchester United)

  7. Mohamed Salah (EGY/Liverpool)

  8. Kevin De Bruyne (BEL/Manchester City)

  9. Kylian Mbappe (FRA/Paris SG)

  10. Gianluigi Donnarumma (ITA/AC Milan – Paris SG)

Women’s Ballon d’Or top 10

  1. Alexia Putellas (ESP/Barcelona)

  2. Jennifer Hermoso (ESP/Barcelona)

  3. Sam Kerr (AUS/Chelsea)

  4. Vivianne Miedema (NED/Arsenal)

  5. Lieke Martens(NED/Barcelona)

  6. Christine Sinclair (CAN/Portland Storms)

  7. Pernille Harder (DAN/Chelsea)

  8. Ashley Lawrence (CAN/Paris SG)

  9. Jessie Fleming (CAN/Chelsea)

  10. Fran Kirby (ENG/Chelsea)

Leave a Comment