INEC Omits Okorocha’s Name From List Of Senators-Elect

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has omitted the name of Governor of Imo State, Rochas Okorocha from the list if newly-elected senators published on the commission’s website.

INEC published the names of all elected officers on its website ahead of the presentation of certificate of return on Thursday.

Okorocha contested the seat on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and was subsequently declared the winner of the election, polling 97,762 votes to beat Jones Onyereri of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who polled 63,117.

However, the collation of the the district, Prof. Innocent Ibeawuchi, later claimed that he declared the APC candidate the winner under duress.

Subsequently INEC Chairman, Mahmood Yakubu, had said during a meeting that the commission would not issue certificates of return to any candidate declared winner of an election under duress.

In his place, the website simply remarked: “Declaration made under duress,”


Leave a Comment