Mbappe, Messi, Ronaldo, Harry Kane, Hazard, and Mohamed Salah Make FIFA Best Player List

FIFA Best Men’s Player award for 2018 features a 10 man shortlist including Barcelona’s and Argentine super-star, Lionel Messi, England’s Harry Kane, Chelsea’s Eden Hazard, Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah and new Juventus member, Cristiano Ronaldo.

Tottenham’s forward, Hatry Kane, 24, won the Golden Boot at the just concluded World Cup in Russia. Kane scored six goals bringing England to their best finish since 1990.

Messi won the Golden boot in Europe in the just concluded season, and helped Barcelona to a La-Liga title.

Kane went into the World Cup on the back of registering his first 30-goal haul in a Premier League season. He maintained that form at the finals, becoming the first English player to win the top scorers’ prize since Gary Lineker in 1986.

Belgium Player, Eden Hazard, 27, won the FA Cup with Chelsea in May and then received the Silver Ball in Russia after inspiring Belgium to third position – their best ever World Cup finish.

26-year-old Egyptian player, Mohamed Salah scored 46 times for club and country during 2017-18, helping Liverpool to the Champions League final in his first season at Anfield.

Five time Ballon d’Or winner, Cristiano Ronaldo also made the list. The Portuguese scored 54 goals in 54 games in all competitions, spearheading Real Madrid’s triumph in the Champions League and the FIFA Club World Cup.

See full shortlist below:

Cristiano Ronaldo – Juventus & Portugal
Kevin De Bruyne – Manchester City & Belgium
Antoine Griezmann – Atletico Madrid & France
Eden Hazard – Chelsea & Belgium
Harry Kane – Tottenham & England
Kylian Mbappe – Paris St-Germain & France
Lionel Messi – Barcelona & Argentina
Luka Modric – Real Madrid & Croatia
Mohamed Salah – Liverpool & Egypt
Raphael Varane – Real Madrid & France

In the category for Best Women’s Player, England full-back Lucy Bronze makes the list. Her inclusion on the women’s best player shortlist caps a fine 12-month period for the right-back.

Bronze, 26, won a French league and Champions league double during her first season at Lyon after leaving Manchester City for France last August.

She is nominated alongside Ada Hegerberg, Saki Kumagai, Dzsenifer Marozsan and French duo Amandine Henry and Wendie Renard.

See full shortlist below:

Lucy Bronze – Lyon & England
Pernille Harder – Wolfsburg & Denmark
Ada Hegerberg – Lyon & Norway
Amandine Henry – Lyon & France
Samantha Kerr – Perth Glory/Chicago Red Stars & Australia
Saki Kumagai – Lyon & Japan
Dzsenifer Marozsan – Lyon & Germany
Marta – Orlando Pride & Brazil
Megan Rapinoe – Seattle Reign & USA
Wendie Renard – Lyon & France

Voting for the award closes at midnight on 10 August, while the awards ceremony takes place in London on 24 September.

Leave a Comment