APC urges members to remain calm as 14 Senators defect to PDP

Nigeria’s ruling party All Progressives Congress (APC) has asked its members to stay calm after 14 Senators defected to the opposition party, The People’s Democratic Party earlier today.

APC’s spokesman, Mallam Bolaji Abdullahi, in a statement said:

“We urge our members to remain calm as we continue to work hard to position our party strongly for the next general elections,”

“APC remains in firm control of 25 states of the 36 states of the federation and maintains a clear majority in the federal House of Representatives and state assemblies,” Abdullahi said.

“It would appear however that the individuals involved have different considerations beyond the grievances that they were willing to discuss and which our leaders were willing to address,” he added.

This came after 14 Senators, including Barnabas Gemade (Benue), Shaaba Lafiaji (Kwara), Rafiu Ibrahim (Kwara), Abdulazeez Nyako (Adamawa), Monsurat Sunmonu (Oyo) and Usman Nafada (Gombe). Senators Suleiman Hunkuyi, Ibrahim Danbaba, Ubale Shittu, Isah Misau, Suleiman Nazif, Soji Akanbi, and Kwakwanso (Kano) defected to the PDP.

Leave a Comment