7th Annual Women4Africa Awards 2018 “The Royal Edition”

Africa, “the last continent, the dark continent, Women the weaker gender, the oppressed gender,” this is what the media has shared for many years but this is also the story that has changed.

The sound of celebration will never end, not as long as we have ordinary women who are doing extraordinary things.

Saturday the 19th of May 2018, Kensington, Central London once again played host to the prestigious Women4Africa Awards

With over 600 guests dressed to dazzle the most prestigious red carpets anywhere in the world, the press and paparazzi had a field day snapping away at the “Purple carpet”

The drinks reception commenced at 6 pm and the doors to the awards opened at 6.50pm.

Guests and finalists flew in from South Africa, Kenya, Nigeria, Ghana, The Caribbean, Sierra Leone, Zimbabwe, DRC Congo, Ireland, Denmark, Germany, The USA and many more countries were represented on the night.

Guests were in awe as phenomenal women shared briefly on their journeys. (Recorded interviews are available on Women4Africa’s YouTube channel.)

The full list of Recognition awardees and winners will be listed on under the tab 2018 winners. (Also listed below)

The Women4Africa 2018 chosen charity of the year supported on the night was the “Nelson Mandela’s children’s Fund UK” (for the Nelson Mandela Children’s Hospital) ably represented by its Executive Director Kathi Scott.

The night was filled with comedy by popular comedian ‘Funmbi’, dance by ‘Princess K & Dem3Official’, music by the young, energetic ‘YFS’ and also gospel singer ‘Idowu Eyin’ and hosted by radio and TV presenter ‘Afua Adom’.

Women4Africa Founders Sam and Tola Onigbanjo and their phenomenal team were so appreciative of all their guests and sponsors. “As we continue to lift Africa for the world to see, we will continue to also lift its Women”.

See some of our Red Carpet highlights here

Women4Africa 2018 Recognitions & Winners


Dame Elizabeth Anionwu DBE – Nigeria

Saira Khan – South Africa

Chief Mrs Elizabeth Ozua – Nigeria

Margaret Casely-Hayford – Ghana

Nomfundo Mcoyi – South Africa

Afua Hirsch – Ghana

Judges Choice of Recognition

Mrs Susan Oyemade – Nigeria

Donia Narh – Ghana/Jamaica


Olutayo Arikawe – Nigeria ‘Woman in Healthcare’

Chrisann Jarrett – Jamaica ‘Young Achiever of the Year’

Caroline Popoola – Nigeria ‘Business Woman of the Year’

Elizabeth Uwaifo – Nigeria ‘Career Woman of the Year’

Jawahir Roble – Somalia ‘Creative & Cultural Sector’

Joyce Obaseki – Nigeria ‘UK Humanitarian of the Year’

Fatima Alimohamed – Kenya ‘Inspirational Woman of the Year’

Adejoke Haastrup – Nigeria ‘UK Woman in Education’

Shalom Lloyd – Nigeria ‘UK Woman in Tech’

Paulette Mastin – Jamaica ‘Woman in Law’

Naeema Ahmed – Ghana ‘Woman in Leadership’

Marie-France Nguo – DRC of Congo ‘Outstanding Mother’

Yetunde Adeshile – Nigeria ‘Outstanding Mother’

Yomi Adegoke – Nigeria ‘Woman in Media’

Esther Nana Schmidt – Ghana ‘International African Woman’

Nisha Maharaj – South Africa ‘International Woman in Business’

Elizabeth Ntonjira – Kenya ‘International Woman in Tech’

Tokunbo Ifaturoti – Nigeria ‘International Woman in Education’

Dr Zipporah Ali – Kenya ‘International Humanitarian’

Leave a Comment