APC sues INEC over Senator Dino Melaye’s Recall

The Kogi chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has issued a notice to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in a lawsuit it has filed against the commission on the Dino Melaye recall.

The Nation reports that the party accused INEC of commencing a Melaye recall process based on a fictitious petition, which contained names of dead persons.

This is coming after INEC has suspended the recall process of the senator, saying they had to comply with a court order issuing them to stay the recall process and maintain the status quo till the determination of the motion on notice.

The party lists 12 people as plaintiffs, They are, Haddy Ametuo, Shaibu Osune. S.T. Adejo, Yahaya Ismaila, Isah Daniel, Gbenga Ashagun, Ahovi Ibrahim, Ghali Usman, Isa Abubakar, I. Molemodile, Abubakar Adamu, and Daniel Sekpe.

They have asked the court to rule that the petition submitted to  INEC Chairman for the recall of Melaye was illegal, unlawful, wrongful, unconstitutional, null, void and of no effect whatsoever.

They asked the court to make an injunction within 30 days for INEC restraining INEC, either by itself or through its servants, employees, agents and privies from commencing or continuing or completing the Dino Melaye recall.

They also requested that the court stops INEC from conducting any referendum based on the petition submitted to it that contained signatures of “dead, fictitious and purported constituents of Kogi West.”

Haddy Ametuo, in an affidavit to support the motion, has said that Dino Melaye had represented the Kogi West Senatorial District and APC very well, and has “discharged his legislative and oversight duties diligently.”

Ametuo, according to The Nation, said that Abubakar Abdullahi, who died on January 14, 2013, and Lami Musa who passed on October 31, 2014, were part of the signatories to the alleged petition for Melaye’s recall.

Leave a Comment