Press Release

Wizkid, Davido, Funke Akindele, Olamide, Tekno & Rotimi Bags Multiple 2017 NEA Awards Nomination

Nigeria Entertainment Awards (NEA) has announce the 2017 NEA nomination list for the 12th edition of the awards. The NEA recognizes Nigerians in the entertainment industry making an impact on the continent and in the diaspora.

Amongst the entertainers that received multiple nods for this years’ NEA includes Wiz Kid, Davido, Funke Akindele, Olamide, Runtown, Tekno and Rotimi amongst others

This year, the producers of the NEA are excited to announce the addition of the “Afrosoca Artist” to the music category, a blend of tranditional Soca sound and Afropop, AfroSoca has a massive followership on the island and beyond.

The producers also added a new category- “Diaspora Lead Role in TV” to Film/TV category, Nigerian-Americans in Hollywood had one of their best years. Stars like Rotimi (“Power”, Starz), Yvonne Orji (“Insecure”, HBO) and Chike Okonkwo (“Been Mary Jane”, BET) each had prominent roles in a successful TV series.

The 2017 NEA will be held on September 3rd, 2017 in New York City, during the labor day weekend.

For all press and media related inquires please contact us [email protected] or visiti our website visit for more information.

Best Single

Wizkid – Come closer ft Drake

Phyno – Fada Fada ft Olamide

Davido – IF

Tekno – Pana

Psquare – Bank alert

Olamide – Who you epp

Mr Eazi – Leg over

Runtown – Mad over you

Best Album

Glory – Olamide

New Era – Kiss Daniel

The Playmaker – Phyno

Gold – Adekunle Gold

Son of Mercey – Davido

Chemistry – Falz & Simi

Life is Eazy – Mr Eazi

MMM – MC Galaxy

Afropop Female Artist

Yemi Alade

Seyi Shay

Mz Kiss

Tiwa Savage



Afropop Male Artist




Mr. Eazi

Kiss Daniel


Best Actors

Blossom Chukwujekwu (Okafor’S Law)

Ramsey Noauh (76)

Wale Ojo (The Ceo)

Gabriel Afolayan (Somewhere In The Dark)

Sambasa Nzeribe (Slow Country)

Oc Ukeje (North East)

Best Actress

Rita Dominic (76)

Funke Akindele (A Trip to Jamaica)

Sola Sobowale (The Wedding Day)

Ireti Doyle (The Arbitration)

Adesua Etomi (Ayamma)

Ivie Okujaye-Egboh (Slow Country)

Best Picture

Somewhere in The Dark



The Wedding Party



Best TV Show

Jenifa’S Diary

Big Brother Naija

Our Best Friend’S Wedding

Beyond Your Sight: The Police Story

The Life of a Nigerian Couple

Meet The Inlaws

Best DJ

DJ Jimmy Jatt

DJ Neptune

DJ Humility


DJ Spinall

DJ Prince

DJ Xclusive

DJ Consequence

African Female Artist (Non-Nigerian)

Becca (GH)

Efya (GH)

Victoria Kimani (KQ)

Queen Vee (ZIM)

Vanessa Mdee (TZ)

Butera Knowless (RW)

Sheeban Karungi (UG)

Amanda Black (SA)

African Male Artist (Non-Nigerian)

Eddie Kenzo (UG)

Stonebwoy (GH)

Sarkodie (GH)

Nasty C (SA)

Sauti Sol (KQ)

Diamond Platnumz (TZ)

Toofan (TG)

Cassper Nyovest (SA)

Full List available on instagram @neaawards

Leave a Comment