British Council | Isoken Ogiemwonyi, Tolu Ogunlesi, Mfon Ekpo others nominated

Isoken Ogiemwonyi,

The British Council is pleased to announce the finalists for a prestigious award celebrating the outstanding achievements of the UK’s international alumni, with fourteen awards ceremonies taking place this year in Egypt, Ghana, Greece, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mexico, Nigeria, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Thailand, Turkey and the USA.

Top alumni have been selected from more than a global total of 1200 applicants, many of whom were nominated by their host UK universities. The Study UK Alumni Awards, created by the British Council in partnership with UK higher education institutions, are intended to recognise outstanding success in Entrepreneurism, Professional Achievement, and Social Impact by people who have studied at UK higher education institutions within the last 15 years.


In Nigeria, over 200 applications were received across the three award categories – Entrepreneurial, Professional Achievement, and Social Impact categories and 14 finalists were selected in across the three categories. They are:


Award Category Finalist Institution
Professional Achievement Mary Stephen University of Leeds
  Tolu Ogunlesi University of East Anglia
  Olanrewaju Akinsola University of Warwick
  Paul Oluikpo Loughborough University; University of Oxford
  Timipre Wolo University of Aberdeen
Social Impact Bolaji Abdullahi University of Sussex
  Fatima Oyiza Ademoh University of Leeds
  Mary Dinah University of Surrey; University of Nottingham
  Mfon Ekpo University of Southampton
Entrepreneurial Nasir Abdulkadir Middlesex University
  Ehime Eigbe London Metropolitan University
  Adebambo Akani University of Cambridge
  Anas Balarabe Yazid Imperial College London
  Isoken Ogiemwonyi University of Nottingham; BPP University

Applications were received from alumni from more than 125 UK universities in England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales. They were then reviewed by judging panels in the applicant’s country of entry, and their respective universities.




Leave a Comment