New NPFL season to kick off January 15, 2017

Officials have confirmed that the new Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL), will kick off on January 15, 2017.

This was confirmed after all the participating clubs came out of their Annual General Meeting on Sunday night in Enugu.

Fixtures for the first week have already been released.

Former champions, Kano Pillars, will get the new season up and running, when they welcome FC IfeanyiUbah in a first-ever Friday Night Football on January 15.

The next day, champions Rangers take on Abia Warriors, while Enyimba welcome Sunshine Stars to their new home in Calabar.

Remo Stars, Katsina United, ABS FC and Gombe United have been promoted to the top flight, while Giwa FC, Ikorodu United, Heartland and Warri Wolves were relegated after last season.

Leave a Comment