The Nigerian Prize For Literature 2016: 11 authors shortlisted

The Advisory Board for The Nigeria Prize for Literature, led by Emeritus Professor Ayo Banjo, has announced an initial shortlist of eleven books, drawn from 173 entries, in the running for the 2016 literature prize worth USD$100,000.

The shortlist made up of entries from Nigerian writers at home and abroad, parades well-known writers as well as first-time novelists. Chika Unigwe, winner of The Nigeria Prize for Literature 2012 with her book On Black Sister’s Street and judge for the 2017 Man booker Prize, is on the list with her entry Night Dancer published in 2014.

Ogochukwu Promise, author of over fifteen novels, founder of Wole Soyinka Prize for Literature in Africa and two-time contender for The Nigeria Prize for Literature, is competing with her book Sorrow’s Joy as is Yejide Kilanko, a writer of poetry and fiction with her debut novel Daughters Who Walk This Path. Ifeoma Okoye, a writer and author of children’s literature got on the list with The Fourth World, Sefi Atta, author of the widely popular Everything Good Will Come with her entry A Bit of Difference, and Abubakar Adam Ibrahim, writer and journalist with Season of Crimson Blossoms, and Ifeoluwa Adeniyi, a radio broadcaster with her debut novel On the Bank of the River.

Others on the list include another past contender for The Nigeria Prize for Literature, Elnathan John with his novel, Born On A Tuesday; Aramide Segun, winner of an Association of Nigerian Authors Prose Prize for her debut book The Third Dimple with her novel Eniitan Daughter of Destiny; Maryam Awaisu, radio presenter with her first novel Burning Bright and Mansim Chumah Okafor, author of two previous books of fiction with The Parable of the Lost Shepherds.

The list was presented by the chairman, panel of judges for this year’s prize, Prof. Dan Izevbaye. Other members include Prof. Asabe Usman Kabir, and first winner of The Nigeria Prize for Literary Criticism, Prof. Isidore Diala.

Leave a Comment