Two Nigerians make Caine prize shortlist

The Caine prize has just announced the shortlist for its 2016 prize.

The five writers in this year’s shortlist are South Africa’s Lidudu Malingani, Kenyan/Somalian Abdul Khan, Zimbabwe’s Bongani Kona, Nigerian Nneka Lesley Arimah and Tope Folarin a past Caine Prize winner, also from Nigeria.

The Caine prize for African writing is regarded as the most prestigious short story prize in Africa, awarded to a short story written by an African. No doubt, the Nigerian writers are not giving up in their quest for another taste of the prize. Past Nigerian winners of the prize include E.C. Osondu, Rotimi Babatunde and Tope Folarin.


Leave a Comment