Fuel Scarcity: How Marketers Divert Petrol To Benin, Togo To Make Quick Money Revealed

Independent Petroleum Marketers Association of Nigeria (IPMAN) Interim Committee on Reconciliation and Distribution has disclosed that some unscrupulous marketers are engaged in the diversion of Premium Motor Spirit, PMS, also known as petrol to neighbouring countries. ?

In a statement signed by its Secretary,? Engineer Lawson Ngoa, the IPMAN committee? vowed to checkmate the unwholesome practices carried out by these persons and others who are into hoarding and diversion of the products, thereby, exacerbating the scarcity in Nigeria.

The committee said it is scheduled to visit all NNPC depots and other private depots in the country as part of its monitoring activities to address some of the challenges in the distribution and supply of petroleum products. While vowing to assist government in making petroleum products available in abundance, the committee called on all marketers, stakeholders and the general public to assist it in its activities. The Committee appealed to marketers to exercise patience and cooperate with the Federal Government, while it called on all marketers that have pending tickets to send their names and depots to the committee in the zones.

The committee commended the Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Mr Ibe Kachikwu for his support and assurances to address the crisis in the downstream oil sector. The statement read further, “?Consequence upon its inauguration, IPMAN Reconciliation and Interim Management had been brainstorming on strategies to end the lingering fuel scarcity in Nigeria. ?

The reconciliation of both claimants to the Presidency of IPMAN is yielding positive results, as the committee met both parties recently and the meeting recorded huge success. “In the sessions were; Price I Dumuje (Chairman), Engineer Lawson Ngoa (Secretary), Chief Obasi Lawson, Elder Chinedu Okoronkwo, Barrister Dibu Aderibigbe, Alhaji Abubakar Maigandu, Alhaji Danladi Pasali, Alhaji Hammed Fashola, Dr Leo Nkememe, Hon. Chukudi Fred Ezinwa, Chief Ben Odjugo and Chief Ben Odjugo. “Others are; Chief Andrew Ashiga, Igwe Ezekwesili Maduaguna, Dr Emma Ihesigbo, Comrade M.A Shettima and Mr Augustine Erhabor. “?The committee in carrying out its task has scheduled to visit all NNPC depots and other private depots in the country as part of its monitoring and addressing some of the challenges in the petroleum product distribution and supply.

Leave a Comment