Buhari Appoints New INEC Chairman, Commissioners

President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday approved the appointment of Prof. Mahmood Yakubu as the National Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Five new national commissioners were also named for the commission.

The national commissioners are Mrs. Amina Zakari (North-West); Dr. Anthonia Okoosi-Simbine (North Central); Alhaji Baba Shettima Arfo (North-East); Dr. Mohammed Mustafa Lecky (South-South) and Mr. Soyebi Adedeji Solomon (South-West).

The South-East is said to still have a sitting national commissioner.

Governor Aminu Tambuwal of Sokoto State briefed State House correspondents at the end of the meeting which was presided over by President Buhari

prof mahmood

Leave a Comment