Akpabio Named Senate Minority Leader

Former Akwa Ibom state governor and member of the 8th National Assembly, Senator Goodswill Akpabio has been named Minority leader of the Senate.

Senator Akpabio is a member of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and has been chosen to represent his party
leadership in the Senate.
Senator Kabiru Mafara raised a point of order and pointed out that the Standing rules of the senate states that first time members cannot be named principal officers.

The Senate President, Bukola Saraki ruled Mafara out of order when Ike Ekweremadu pointed out that Mafara isn’t a member of the PDP and it was the business of the party alone whom it chose to make Minority leader.

Senator Emmanuel Bwacha has also been named Deputy Minority Leader while Senator Philip Aduda and Senator Biodun Olujimi are the Minority Whip and Deputy Minority Whip respectively.

The appointment of Principal officers by the Senate President was followed by a vote of confidence by the members of the Senate.

Leave a Comment