2015 Winners List From Durban International Film Festival

The 36th edition of the Durban International Film Festival has finally come to an end but wait, we have the list of winners from this year. See the list below;

AYANDA - Director Sara Blecher


Best South African Short Film

Unomalanga and The Witch – Palesa Shongwe

Production Merit Award

Rights of Passage – Ntombizodwa Magagula, Mapula Sibanda, Lerato Moloi, Valencia Joshua, Zandile Angeline Wardle, Tony Miyambo, Rethabile Mothobi, Yashvir Bagwandeen.

Best Screenplay Award

Sabrina Compeyron

Sugar Cane Shadows – David Constantin.

Best Feature Film

Sunrise – Partho Sen-Gupta.

Best South African Feature Film

Necktie Youth – Sibs Shongwe-La Mer

Best Documentary

Beats of the Antonov – Hajooj Kuka

Best SA Documentary awards

The Dream of the Shahrazad – Francois Verster,

Best Actor Award

Didier Michon

Best Actress

Anissa Daoud

Best African Short Film

The Aftermath of the Inauguration of the Public Toilet at Kilometre 375 – Omar el Zohairy

Best Cinematography

Sunrise – Partho Sen-Gupta.

Special Mention for Direction was made of Kivu Ruhorahozafor Things Of The Aimless Wanderer‘.

A Special Mention for Best Film was given to Tunisian Springby Raja Amari.

Special Mention for a Documentary was given to Democratsdirected by Camilla Nielsson.

Leave a Comment