Photos From MTV MAMA 2015 In Durban

The fifth uplifting edition of the MTV Africa Music Awards took place on July 18th, 2015 in Durban, Kwazulu-natal. Saluting and championing African music, youth culture and achievement, MAMA 2015 brought the continent together for a massive celebration contemporary music and creativity, including electrifying performances, collaborations and awards presentations.

Stunning collaborations between artists of different genres saw NE-YO take to the stage with Seyi Shay, 2Face collaborating with Bucie, Sauti Sol pairing up with Yemi Alade and Patoranking swapping beats with K.O.  The show ended on a high with a jubilant medley mash-up by Artist of the Decade winners P-Square, featuring hit tracks “Personally”, “Chop My Money”, “Alingo” and “Shekini”. Other performers included DJ Fisherman, NaakmusiQ, DJ Tira, Anselmo Ralph, Danger from Big Nuz, Duncan, Burna Boy, Stonebwoy, Da LES, Diamond, Flavour, Toofan, D’Banj, Davido, Uhuru, Black Motion and Cassper Nyovest.


The MAMA 2015 coincided with the nationwide celebration of the late Nelson Mandela’s birthday, a fact that was touched on by artists in the show.



Diamond platinum Ehis (1) Anthony Anderson

2015 winners in full:

Best Female: Yemi Alade (Nigeria)

Best Male: Davido (Nigeria)

Best Group: P-Square (Nigeria)

Best New Act Transformed by Absolut: Patoranking (Nigeria)

Best Hip Hop:  Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)

Best Collaboration: AKA, Burna Boy, Da LES & JR: “All Eyes On Me” (SA/Nigeria)

Song of the Year: Mavins: “Dorobucci” (Nigeria)

Best Live: Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)

Video of the Year:  “Nafukwa” – Riky Rick; Director: Adriaan Louw

Best Pop & Alternative: Jeremy Loops (South Africa)

Best Francophone: DJ Arafat (Ivory Coast)

Best Lusophone: Ary (Angola)

Personality of the Year:  Trevor Noah (South Africa)

MAMA Evolution: D’Banj (Nigeria)

Best International: Nicki Minaj

Artist of the Decade: P-Square

MTV Base Leadership Award: Saran Kaba Jones & S’Bu Mavundla


See photos below;


Adora Oleh (1) AKA (2) Bucci Cyprian dbanj and vanessa diamond platnumz fade ogunro and Dotun Flavour (1) Head, Marketing and communications Viacom colette Otusheso Jessica Nkosi (4) Khuli Chana (2) KO (1) KO (3) Lynxx (2) Neyo (1) Neyo (6) Oc Ukeje (2) Patoranking (1) Phyno (1) Senior Vice President Viacom Africa, Neyo and Tim seyi before the award Seyi Shay (1) Shaon mundia (1) Stephanie coker (4) Stoneboy Vanessa (1) vanessa Yvonne Vixen (1)

Leave a Comment