Akintayo Abodunrin,Funke Osae-Brown And Isabella Akinseye Win Big At AMAA Media Recognition Awards

Akintayo Abodunrin of the Nigerian Tribune has emerged top in the maiden edition of the Africa Movie Academy Awards Media Recognition awards.

He emerged the biggest winner with a $3000 dollars cash prize when the winners were announced among the 10 finalists on Sunday night during the Africa Film Academy Charity and Praise Night at the Oriental Hotel, Victoria Island, Lagos.

Akintayo’s winning entry titled Catalyst to greatness: How AMAA aided their rise to the top led the pack and was described by Dr. Ifeoma Amobi of the Department of Mass Communications, University of Lagos as the entry that

‘’captures and embodies the very reason for the existence of AMAA as an enabler of professionalism and success for motion picture practitioners. AMAA celebrates creative and artistic excellence and winning an AMAA awards catapults winners to a new height in their careers. Akintayo’s entry interrogates and reviews the progression in the careers of past winners of AMAA in the last 10 years and the impact the award had on each and every one of them using their own testimonies. It was delivered in a very lucid and elegant language devoid of any ambiguity.’’

Funke Osae-Brown of Businessday came second with $2000 dollars cash prize with her entry Peace Anyiam-Osigwe on a show beyond the continent while Biodun Kupoluyi of E247 Magazine and Isabella Akinseye of Nolly Silverscreen tied for 3rd position with cash prize of $1500 dollars each. Collins Ukaonu of Galaxy Television and Njenga Micugu of Nairobi Digest won the two consolation prizes of $1000 dollars each.

The AMAA Media Recognition Awards was designed to celebrate journalists in Africa who have helped to project the awards and the motion picture industry to the rest of the world.
AMAA’s Media recognition awards 3-man committee was coordinated by Mr. Steve Ayorinde, the Chairman of AMAA 2014 Jury. Other members of the screening panel for the media award were Thisday newspaper columnist, Mrs. Onoshe Nwabuikwu and Dr.Ifeoma Amobi of the department of Mass Communication, University of Lagos.

Leave a Comment