Glitz and Glamour at Nigerian Broadcasters Merit Awards 2013

It’s obviously no news that the much-talked about Nigerian Broadcasters Merit Awards has come and gone. The exquisite hall within NECA HOUSE situated within the Alausa Business district in Ikeja, Lagos played host to the event and of course, it was a night with memories that would outlive all who attended the event especially those who returned home with plaques; a monument of honour and prestige from the event anchored by the duo of Shola Thompson and Pat Obilo.

There were a lot of winners indeed and the smile on their faces as well as their tight grip on the plaques in their hands told the entire story without using words. Some of the winners include Uti Nwachukwu, Toke Makinwa, Adora Oleh, Chioma Ifeanyi-Obianinwa (STV), Ambrose Somide (Raypower), Mc Ice Water (Eko FM), Gimba Umar (TVC), Gift Agriga (Kapital FM Abuja), Toyin Ibitoye (Channels TV), Daily Independent, Bella Naija, Murphy Ijemba (Brila FM)

Sports Tonight (Channels TV), Unizik FM , Liberty Radio 91.7FM (Kaduna), Vision Africa Radio (Umuahia), Royal FM (Ilorin), LTV 8, Nwokedi Moses a.k.a Big MO’ (Wazobia FM Abuja), Amaka Udeh a.k.a Fresh (Hot FM Abuja), Didi Egbuna(Dream FM, Enugu),Vimbai Mutinhiri- (Zinbabwe), Funmilola Aofiyebi Raimi (Tinsel), MTV Base, Music Africa, Anita Izedeh, Airtel, GTB, Startimes, Emrald Series, Oodua, and so many others.

More so, aside inducting broadcast legends Deji Haastrup and Kunle Job into the NBMA’s Hall of Fame, Soni Irabor, Fidelis Duka, Otunba Sesan Rufai and Mrs Ibifuro Tatua went home with Special Recognition Awards for their immeasurable contributions to the development of the Nigerian broadcast industry.

Bearing in mind that nominees can only win in a category once in three years, the event certainly hit a vibrant note on the sheets of credibility as this explained why the names of some popular On-Air-Personalities, TV and radio programmes were missing from this year’s list of nominees.

The SMS voting system, research and agency report used in determining the winners this year further strengthened the event’s wall of integrity.

A sizeable number of shining and rising music stars led by African China, Lil’ Jojo, Marcello, Rado and among others filled in some of the blank spots with electrifying performances. Kay Okonkwo, the beautiful belle behind Ramore Couture proved why she is hot in the fashion scene. The unsung gifted fashion designer showcased some of her fashion collections during the event.

In all, the bar was raised and a thumbs up for the brains behind the event as we keep an eye on the next edition of the yearly event packaged by The Reality Entertainment. Below is the complete list of winners



1. Newscaster of the Year (TV)

-Gimba Umar (TVC)




-Chioma Ifeanyi-Obianiwa (STV)


2. Radio Newscaster of the Year (English)
-Juwe Ikechukwu (Raypower FM)




3. Newscaster of the Year (Indigenous)


-Tunji Olalekan (Koko Inu iwe Iroyin on Bond FM)


4. News Reporter of The Year (TV only




– Seun Okinbaloye (Channels TV)





– Christycole Popoola (TVC News)



5. TV Station of the Year (National) 


-LTV 8



6. TV Station of the year (Regional)


– B.C.O.S (Ibadan)



7. TV Channel Of The Year



8. Entertainment Channel Of The Year (TV)

– MTV Base



-Music Africa


9. Radio Station of the Year- 


-Lagos (Central)


– Raypower 100.5 FM




– Royal FM (Ilorin)




-Vision Africa Radio (Umuahia)





Liberty Radio 91.7FM (Kaduna)




11. Best Indigenous Radio Station

-Naija FM (Lagos)


12. Campus Radio Station of the year

-Unizik FM


13. Campus Radio Presenter of the Year


-Larry Foreman (Unilag FM)



14. On-line Radio Station of the Year


– IGroove


15. Most Outstanding Pay Digital TV Channel provider 



17. TV Programme of the Year

– Sports

-Sports Tonight (Channels TV)


– Drama

-Emerald Series






Reality Show

-Nigeria’s Got Talent




-De Market Place


18. Radio programme of the Year




–Sports at Dawn (Rainbow FM)







–Comedy Happy Hour with D-Don (Rainbow FM)



 Talk Show


Road Show with Freeze & Kaylah (Cool FM)

19. Most Popular In-House DJ



-DJ Mewsic (Brila FM)



-DJ Smooth (Stv)

20. Most Popular TV presenter


– Uti Nwachukwu (Jara)



-Adora Oleh  (adora Oleh Show)





-Toyin Ibitoye (Channels TV)




-Kemi Muyi Adeniyi (LTV)



21. Best Radio Presenter


-Ambrose Somide (Raypower)


-Anita Izedeh (Rhythm FM)


22. Most Popular Indigenous Presenter (TV/Radio)-Male

-Mc Ice Water (Eko FM)





-–Feyikemi Olayinka (Owuro Lawa on LTV)


23  Corporate Organization of the Year

-Manufacturing Industry


-Honeywell Group








-Guarantee Trust Bank (GTB)



24. Outstanding Presenter of the Year (Radio)

Talk Shows






– Sly Ojigbede (Classic FM)




-Toke Makinwa (Rhythm FM)








-Nwokedi Moses a.k.a BiG’ MO (Wazobia FM)





– Amaka Udeh a.k.a Fresh (Hot FM Abuja)





-Don Tee (Splash FM)




-Tope Alabi (Star FM Ibadan)






-Didi Egbuna(Dream FM, Enugu)




-Omalicha (Blaze FM)






-Murphy Ijemba (Brila FM)





-Princess Fiona (Nigeria Info)




25. Sexiest On-Air Personality





-Chriz De Razor (Beat FM)




-Onyiye Gift Agriga (Kapital FM)


26. Print Media of the Year:

-Daily Independent


27. Best New Radio Station

-Lagos Traffic Radio (Lagos),



28. Actor of the Year –



-Bimbo Manuel (Tinsel)




Funmilola Aofiyebi Raimi (Tinsel)




29- Artiste of The Year











-Tiwa Savage



31. Cameraman of the Year (Male and female)


-Akinsoji Emmanuel (TVC)
32. African TV Presenter of the Year




-Adesope Olajide  ( VOX-Africa Nigeria)





– Vimbai Mutinhiri- (Zinbabwe)




33. Indigenous TV Channel of the Year





34. Station Director/ Manager of the Year




–Abiola Alabi (M-Net)




-Evita Moussalli (Wazobia, Cool and Nigerian Info)


35. Website of the Year-


-Premium Times


36. Blog/website of the Year-



-Bella Naija



Leave a Comment