Tinubu, Amaechi for Nigerian Broadcasters Merit Awards, as prizes are attached to few categories

It’s going to be a gathering of broadcasting heavy weights and society big-wigs as the highly anticipated fourth edition of the Nigerian Broadcasters Merit Awards (NBMA), gathers momentum! The yearly event, packaged by The Reality Entertainment is now scheduled for Sunday December 8, 2013, at the prestigious Necca House, Alausa Ikeja, Lagos.

Voting for the best choices among the deserving nominees for the competitive categories, is in process already. To join in, simply text NBMA (space) Code for the category (space) nominee’s name and send to 33680.

It may also interest you to know that former Lagos state governor and political juggernaut, Senator Bola Ahmed Tinubu and Governor Rotimi Amaechi of River State have both been pencilled down for Special Recognition Awards.

Moreover, since NBMA will be rocking Lagos for the fourth time, both Tinubu and Amaechi would not only be recognised for their immense contributions to the development of the Nigerian broadcasting industry, they will be joined by Governor Babatunde Raji Fashola as the Special Guest of Honour.

Aside inducting broadcast legends, Deji Haastrup and Kunle Job into the NBMA’s Hall of FameTony Ibegbuna will also be honoured with a Life Time Achievement Award, while Soni Irabor and the late Veronica Osawere will be recognized with Special Recognition Awards for their immeasurable contributions to the development of the Nigerian broadcast industry.

There are also competitive categories for reigning and upcoming On-Air Personalities, whose presence cannot be ignored on airwaves. In all, more than 35 categories to be contested for by the practising OAPs, not just in Lagos but from all across the federation.

Good news! Unlike previous editions, there are prizes like LCD TV’s, Mobile TV gadgets and Decoders attached to a couple of plaques to be won by winners of some of the competitive categories of this year’s Nigerian Broadcasters Merit awards. This is been sponsored by StarTimes, the upwardly mobile pay digital TV channels provider.

Among the lined-up programmes that will add glitz and glamour to the event to be hosted by the dynamic trio of Shola ThompsonHalima Abubakarand Labi Olayori, includes a red carpet reception, live studio broadcast,   command performances from top rated music stars and humour merchants, as well as other side attractions.

The Nigerian Broadcasters Awards 2013 promises to be an evening to remember. You can’t afford to miss it!

Leave a Comment