2Face Idibia Tops First Ever Official Naija Top 10 on MTV Base


2Face Idibia is riding high at number one in the first ever Official Naija Top 10, 

the definitive new chart of Nigerian contemporary music created by musicauthority MTV Base.  2Face’s top place in the inaugural chart – for Ihe Neme – was revealed on The Official Naija Top 10, the weekly countdown which premiered on the MTV Base block on NTA on 8 March.


Close on 2Face’s heels were P-Square with “Alingo” while Ice Prince’s “More” clocked in at number 3.  Other artists featuring in the top 10 included Banky W., Iyanya, Burna Boy and the late, lamented Goldie, with “Skibobo”.



Every week, The Official Naija Chart is decided by an elite panel of Nigerianbroadcasters, music specialists and tastemakers. As of the second episode, Bella Naija music editor Onos Ariyo will be joining DJ Jimmy Jatt, Cool FM’s DJ Xclusive, DJ Humility and Big Time(Rhythm FM), DJ Case and Toolz (The Beat FM) and Osagie Alonge (Nigerian Entertainment Today) on the judging panel. Bella Naijawill publish the Official Naija Top 10 on its website every Monday as will Nigerian Entertainment Today (www.thenetng.com).



Tune into The Official Naija Chart, presented by MTV Base VJ Ehis (@SpecialSlim), with special guest Jimmy Jatt on MTV Base (DStv Channel 322) on Tuesday 12 March @22.00 WAT, to AIT on Tuesday 12 March @ 21.30 WAT and STV: Thursday 14 March @ 18.00 WAT.  The following week’s chart will be released on Friday 15 March on NTA @ 23.30 WAT.

The full Official Naija Top 10 (8 March – 14 March 2013):

  1. 2face – Ihe Neme
  2. P-Square – Alingo
  3. Ice Prince – More
  4. Banky W. – Yes/No
  5. Iyanya – Your Waist
  6. Burna Boy – Tonight
  7. Goldie – Skibobo
  8. Phyno ft Olamide – Ghostmode
  9. LOS – Bad Guy P
  10. Olamide – First of all

Leave a Comment