BBC African Footballer Of The Year 2012 List is Out

British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC), has released a five-man shortlist for their 2012 African Footballer of the Year Award.

Only Didier Drogba, who won the award in 2009, is the past winner included. The rest are: Moroccan Younes Belhanda (Montpellier), Ivorian Yaya Toure (Manchester City), Senegalese Demba Ba (Newcastle United) and Christopher Katongo, who won this year’s African Cup of Nations with Zambia.

The winner will be announced on December 17, after voting online. Black Stars midfielder, Andre Ayew, won the 2011 edition.


Former winners

2011 : Andre Ayew (Ghana)
2010 : Asamoah Gyan (Ghana)
2009 : Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast)
2008 : Mohamed Abouterika (Egypt)
2007 : Emmanuel Adebayor (Togo)
2006 : Michael Essien (Ghana)
2005 : Mohamed Barakat (Egypt)
2004 : Jay Jay Okocha (Nigeria)
2003 : Jay Jay Okocha (Nigeria)
2002 : El Hadji Diouf (Senegal)
2001 : Sammy Kuffour (Ghana)
2000 : Patrick Mboma (Cameroon)


Who do you guys think would be named BBC’s African footballer of the year?

Leave a Comment