Airtel Wins Triple at Industry Awards

Former Minister of Defence and Minister of Communications, Bello Mohammed Halilu and Customer Service Director, Airtel Nigeria, Ajay Bakshi at the event

…Named Telecoms Brand of the Year, Most Innovative Telecoms Company and
Customer Friendly Operator

 Leading telecommunication services provider, Airtel Nigeria on Saturday night clinched three industry Awards at the prestigious 8th edition of the Nigerian Telecoms Awards.

The telecoms operator beat other competitors to emerge the Industry’s Most
Innovative Telecom Company of the Year, Telecom Brand of the year and
Consumer Friendly Operator of the year at the well-attended event marked by a
huge presence of dignitaries from both the private and public sectors.

According to Awards’ citations, Airtel emerged overall best in the three categories

following its enviable strides in charting new paths in meeting the demands and
needs of its esteemed stakeholders through superior brand experience, a rich
portfolio of innovative products and services ranging from exciting voice solutions
to inventive data packages and mobile broadband.

Specifically, Airtel was commended for delighting “telecoms consumers in Nigeria
with pocket-friendly and innovative offerings, bonuses, and exceptional customer
relations policy.”

Speaking at the occasion held at the Incubator Centre, Victoria Island, Lagos, the
Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Nigerian Telecommunications Awards,
Chief Alex Akinyele said the awards are sustained by credibility, describing the
Industry event as the most credible in the Nigerian Telecoms space.

He pledged that the Board of Trustees will continue to live above board to retain
the credibility of the Awards among stakeholders.

Also speaking at the occasion, the pioneer Executive Vice Chairman of the
Nigerian Communications Commission, Dr. Ernest Ndukwe, in his speech,
commended the organizers of the Awards saying, “though a lot of progress has

been made since the advent of telecommunications in Nigeria, initiatives such as
the telecoms awards spur further development that can ensure that Nigeria keeps
pace with developments and innovations across the world.”

Some of the notable dignitaries at the event were the Executive Governor of
Osun State, His Excellency, Rauf Aregbesola, His Deputy, Mrs Grace Titi-Laoye
Tomori, the pioneer Executive Vice Chairman of the Nigerian Communications
Commission, Ernest Ndukwe, former Governor of Ogun State, Chief Segun Osoba,
former Minister of Communications, Chief Olawale Ige and former Minister of
Defence and Communications, Bello Halilu Mohammed.

Airtel was represented at the event by Jaideep Paul, Chief Finance Officer;
Awadesh Kumar Kalia, Chief Technical Officer; Ajay Bakshi, Customer Services
Delivery Director; Adebayo Osinowo, Regional Operations Director, Lagos Region
and Solanke Abimbola, Financial Controller.

Leave a Comment