Lagos |Nigeria Smooth Promotions today announced the nominations for the Headies 2011.
The nominees for the annual urban music awards were announced via the official website, and on the Beat 99.9 FM by Radio personality Oreka Godis.
Chocolate City scored a remarkable 15 nomination including nine nominations for Ice Prince (Song of the year, Producer of the year, Best Rap Single for Oleku and She and my Swagga, Lyricist on the roll, Best Collabo for Oleku and Joor Oh Remix ,Next Rated and Best street hop for Joor Oh Remix), Five nominations for MI (Artiste of the year, Album of the year, Best Collabo, Best Conscious music and lyricist on the roll) while Jesse Jagz has  two nominations for Producer of the Year and Hiphopworld revelation of the year.
Mohits Records yet again got thumbs up from members of the Headies screening committee with six nominations for Dr. Sid in album of the year, Song of the year, Best Pop single, Best RNB/ Pop album, Producer of the year and Revelation of the year categories. Dbanj follows closely with nominations for Artiste of the year, song of the year (Give it to me and Pop something), Pop Single and Producer of the year; D’Prince has two nominations for Best Pop Single and Song of the year while Don Jazzy is nominated for Producer of the year. In all Mohits records is up for 10 nominations at this year’s Headies.
Soul Muzik’s Darey was also recognized by the Headies screening committee as he scores Six nominations in Artiste of the year, Best RNB/ Pop album, Best RNB single, Producer of the year, Recording of the year and Best male vocal performance.
Following in the footsteps of mentor Banky W, EME Record’s WizKid gets a first time nomination in Next Rated, Best Pop single, Best Music Video and Producer of the year categories.   
Other new comers to the list include Kas (Song of the year, Best Pop single), Olamide (Best Music Video, Rap Single, Street Hop and Next rated), Samklef (Producer of the year, StreetHop), Gini (Best Music Video), J Sleek (Producer of the year), Flavour (Best Collabo and Best RNB Single)Tiwa Savage ( Next Rated and Best Female Vocal performance), Lynxx (Revelation of the year), Vector (Lyricist on the roll), Goldie (Best Music Video and collabo of the year), Wiz boy (Street Hop), Essence (Best Collabo) and Patrick Ellis (Best Music Video).
Other usual suspects like Waje (Best RNB single and Best Female Vocal performance), Mocheddah (Best Music Video and Revelation of the year), Eva (Best Female Vocal performance and recording of the year), Modenine (Lyricist on the roll), Terry Tha Rapman (Best Rap Single, Best Rap album and Lyricist on the roll) Timi Dakolo (Best conscious music, Producer of the year and Best Male vocal performance) also make the nominees list for the highly coveted awards.
As usual 2face makes his mark on the Headies list as he attains seven nominations in the Album of the year, Artiste of the year, Song of the year, Producer of the year, Best RNB single, Best Conscious Music and Best RNB / Pop Album categories.
A new category in 2011 has increased the extent of artistes eligible for the headies, as Eldee, MI, Omawumi, Timi Dakolo and 2face make their first entry into the Best Conscious Music category.
Jury Chairman DJ Jimmy JATT says“ Once again we are set to reward talents who have done exceptionally well in the year in review”
The year in review according to the screening committee is from December 2009- February 2011. The nominees for the 2011 Headies was shortlisted by The Headies screening committee comprising of six grounded individuals from different spheres of the music industry.
——- ENDS——-

Leave a Comment