The MTV Africa Music Awards with Airtel takes place on Saturday 11 December 2010 and will broadcast on MTV base (DStv Channel 322), MTV platforms around the world and partner TV stations from 18 December 2010.

As the countdown begins to the 2010 MTV Africa Music Awards (MAMA), four more awesome artists have been
added to the performer roster for Africa’s most exciting music event.

USA hip hop star Rick Ross, Kenya’s P-Unit, South Africa’s Jozi and Nigeria’s Wande Coal will join previously announced performers DJ Arafat (Ivory Coast), 2FACE (Nigeria), Daddy Owen (Kenya), Banky W
(Nigeria), Fally Ipupa (DRC), Teargas (South Africa) and Cabo Snoop (Angola).

Visiting Africa for the first time to take part in the 11 December spectacular, US rapper Rick Ross has been described by the New York Times as “one of rap’s most potent and creative forces”. Making their first appearance at the MAMAs, Best Group contenders P-Unit are going head to head against Uganda’s Radio & Weasle, SouthAfrica’s Teargas and multiple MAMA winners and Nigerian music phenomenon, P-Square.  As well as performing at the 2010 show, former MAMA winners Jozi are also nominated in the Artist of the Year category, where they are pitched against 2FACE, P-Square and Fally Ipupa.  Wande Coal faces a tough race in the Best Anglophone category, where Ghana’s Sarkodie, Kenya’s Daddy Owen and South Africa’s Biz Nuz are also in the running.

The MTV Africa Music Awards 2010 is sponsored by Airtel in association with MasterCard. Arik Air is the official airline partner of the MTV Africa Music Awards with Airtel.

Leave a Comment