Showbiz

New season of Sons of the Caliphate premiered on EbonyLife TV to rave reviews

ebonylife tv-olorisupergal

Something big came out of the North last night – a new season of Sons of the Caliphate, on EbonyLife TV.

Fans thoroughly enjoyed the highly anticipated popular drama about feuding families in northern Nigeria

The much-awaited second season premiere of the hit series, Sons of the Caliphate (SOTC) took place last night at 9 pm (WAT), on DStv, 165.
ebonylife tv-olorisupergal

Set in the fictional state of Kowa, northern Nigeria, SOTC chronicles the intertwined stories of three rich and entitled friends, ‘Kalifah’, ‘Nuhu’ and ‘Diko’, and the power struggles of their influential families. They are young, passionate, ambitious and caught up in the webs of power, addiction, desire and revenge.

The action resumes months later and a lot has happened since last season’s cliff-hanger, including a wedding and a coronation. Viewers are introduced to new faces and discover that life has become more complicated for some of the characters. Ardent viewers can expect more exciting twists and turns, as the plot deepens.

Last night’s episode made it clear that apart from the more intense and gripping stories, season two will thrill fans with quality acting from the cast, who deliver stellar performances and bring their roles to life. This time around, the production values are much higher, giving a more glamorous look and feel to the series.

Shockers from yesterday’s episode 

 

As the lead actors and their fans took to Twitter during the episode, the excitement was tangible and the interaction was lively. Many viewers commented on various scenes, as the actors chipped in with their thoughts. Here’s just a taste:

 

Mo Abudu, Executive Producer, is excited about the second season of Sons of the Caliphate. “We are glad that the first episode resonated so strongly with the audience. Last night’s live tweet session showed that the audience has really engaged with the characters and that they care about what happens next. With so many juicy developments to come, Thursday nights will be the most dramatic of the week.”

Sons of the Caliphate is exclusive to EbonyLife TV and will air every Thursday, as part of the Big Story lineup, designed to give viewers exhilarating and emotional drama each week.

Reruns: Fridays at 11am4pm WAT (12pm5pm CAT)

Saturdays at 5am WAT (6am CAT)

Sundays at 9am5pm WAT (10am6pm CAT)

Wednesdays at 10am WAT (11am CAT)

Leave a Comment